St. Paul Masters

Entry F

November 6th, 2017

2017 St. Paul Masters Results


Submitted by:  Wells Wescott and David Hoglund – St. Paul Masters Chairpersons

On the first Sunday of November, Brady Stearns was victorious and won the 47th annual St. Paul Masters tournament at Treasure Island Bowl in Welch, Minnesota.  The tournament was sponsored by the St. Paul USBC Association, Mike’s Pro Shop, and the Bowling Proprietors Association.

Fifty-eight (58) bowlers participated in this year’s tournament.  Each participant bowled 8 games of qualifying with the top sixteen (16) entering into the Match Play section of the competition.  The Match Play portion of the tournament consisted of a single game with a double elimination format.  In other words, you had to lose twice before being eliminated from the tournament.

At this year’s tournament, Doug Manhart led the qualifying round with a 233.5 average.  To qualify for the sixteenth (16) seed in this year’s tournament, an average of 218.1 was required.  The sixteen bowlers moving on to Match Play were;

          Doug Manhart          Matt Paine               Jacob Green             Steve Bohn

          Brady Stearns           Erik Vermilyea          Nick Larson             Ethan Frank

          John Foss                Scot Arndtson           Charles Vashaw        Chad Nelson

          Jeff Walther             Jamie Clark              Alex Borst               AJ Chapman

Brady Stearns was seated in the fifth (5th) position for the Match Play competition after averaging 227.1 during qualifying.  Brady moved undefeated through Match Play into the finals.  In the finals, his opponent was Doug Manhart who led qualifying. Brady remained undefeated and defeated Doug in a single game match by posting a score of 227 to Doug’s score of 204.

For his efforts, Brady received the top cash prize of $600.00, a Champions Plaque, which was donated by Mike’s Pro Shop, and free entry into the National USBC Masters Tournament.  This year’s tournament paid the top 20 bowlers.

Next year’s tournament is schedule to be held on November 4th at a site still to be determined.  The St. Paul Masters Tournament is open to all sanctioned bowlers.  Bowlers not sanctioned with the St. Paul USBC Association are required to purchase a cross over card in order to compete.  Please contact Dean Streich at the St. Paul USBC Association at (651) – 415-2828 for further details.

If you have any suggestions that will help us enhance this tournament, please contact the St. Paul USBC Association office.


Wells Wescott & David Hoglund


Last Updated : Nov-16-2017